Self Care

MoU signed to strengthen bilateral cooperation in education between Mauritius and Australia

A Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) aimed at reinforcing bilateral cooperation in education was signed this morning between the Ministry of Education and Human Resources, Tertiary Education and Scientific Research and the Deakin University, Australia. The Minister of Education and Human Resources, Tertiary Education and Scientific Research, Mrs Leela Devi Dookun-Luchoomun, was present on this occasion.

Signatories were the Senior Chief Executive of the Ministry of Education and Human Resources, Tertiary Education and Scientific Research, Mr R. P. Ramlugun, and the Vice President (Global) and CEO (South Asia) of Deakin University, Ms P. Pawha.

In her address, Minister Dookun-Luchoomun highlighted that during discussions with representatives of Deakin University, four main areas of collaboration were identified. They are: in-country PhD programmes led by the Deakin University in collaboration with local Tertiary Education Institutions (TEIs); joint programmes on either two plus two or three plus one mode between Mauritian TEIs and Deakin University; online cloud-based programmes; and joint research projects between Mauritian TEIs and institutions in Australia.

She underlined that as recently as in September 2017, four memoranda of understanding were signed between the Ministry and universities and institutions from Australia, namely Murdoch University, Deakin University, Edith Cowan University, and South Metropolitan TAFE. Mrs Dookun-Luchoomun added that the enhanced collaboration between her Ministry and Deakin University will help prepare and equip the future generation with the skills and expertise to advance and contribute to the development of the country.

The Minister underscored that the enactment of the Higher Education Act 2017 will further enable collaboration with local and international institutions. The Ministry is determined to develop a culture of achievement and excellence in education and is also keen on fostering innovation and generating new knowledge for the socioeconomic and sustainable development of the country, she added.

For her part, Ms Pawha announced that Deakin University will provide two full-term PhD scholarships to the best Mauritian students to come and work on key aspects of research in any discipline at Deakin University. A full scholarship will also be offered to a Mauritian student to come and study any programme at Deakin University, whether at undergraduate or postgraduate level, she added.

Source: Government of Mauritius