AU Becomes Permanent Member Of G20

The African Union (AU) has became a permanent member of the Group of 20 largest economies (G 20) today.

The Group agreed on Saturday to grant permanent membership to the AU in an effort to make the group more representative.

The agreement was reached at the inaugural session of the two-day G20 summit held in New Delhi during the weekend.

Chairperson of the African Union Commission, Moussa Faki Mahamat twitted that the membership will provide a propitious framework for amplifying advocacy in favor of the Continent and its effective contribution to meeting global challenges.

G20 is the premier forum for international economic cooperation playing an important role in shaping and strengthening global architecture and governance on all major international economic issues.

India holds the Presidency of the G20 from 1 December 2022 to 30 November 2023.

Source: Ethiopian News Agency